What the birdie said to me

WHAT THE BIRDIE SAID TO ME.
by Sarah Ward Benedict

A bright little birdie sang to me to-day
While it sat all alone on a sweet leafy spray.
It seemed to be saying when life would be o’er
There still would, for me, be a sunshiny shore:
That I would find roses most sweetly abloom,
Surpassing the blossoms on this side the tomb;
That I had my garlands awhile here to braid
Ere I could see blossoms that never would fade;
That though I was pining for love that was mine,
They were waiting to fold me where love was divine.
Was the birdie a messenger sent from above
To speak to a heart that had buried its love?

Published in ‘Local and National Poets of America” edited and compiled by Thomas W. Herringshaw in 1892

 

Leave a Reply

