My Songs are Smiles and Tears

by Sarah Ward Benedict

I pen down the joys a true Christian may know,
I have learned how to write of a widow’s deep pain.
I write of a home that once brightly hath shone,
I write songs of triumph, and songs full of fears.
There’s a mingling together of smiles and of tears.

I write of the beauty of earth, and of sky,
I write of the anguish when cyclones pass by.
I pen down the songs that I learn from the rill,
I write of the floods that have brought so much ill.
I write songs of triumph, and songs full of fears.
There’s a mingling together of smiles and of tears.

I write of the wolf prowling close round our door,
I write of the grain that for us is in store.
I write of the soul trampling down a heart’s love,
I write of a love that is steadfast above.
I write songs of triumph, and songs full of fears.
There’s a mingling together of smiles and of tears.

I write of the sweetness of infantile breath,
I write of the homes that are shrouded by Death.
I write of the forms mold’ring ‘neath the green sod,
I write of the souls that are living with God.
I write songs of triumph, and songs full of fears.
There’s a mingling together of smiles and of tears.

Return to her homepage

© Mark Gove, Curating in Sepia Tones, 2012.  All rights are reserved.
Leave a Reply

